How To Have An Adventure At Home

I want to travel the world, see amazing places and have once in a lifetime experiences. I mean who doesn’t? It seems to be the tagline of our generation but the reality is for most of us there isn’t the time or the money.  We can get into the trap of thinking ‘one day’ I will go somewhere exciting in the meantime missing out on the potentially increadible opportunities right in front of us.

In case you haven’t noticed from reading my blogs my mentality is “life is what you make it” and that includes how adventurous your life is, it doesn’t matter if you are trekking through Peru or  in the suburbs of Sheffield.

So I have compiled a list of simple things that from personal experiences break the mundane​ everyday routing and hopefully will show you how to have an adventure at home!

1) Go On a Random Photoshoot!
This my absolute favourite thing to do when I feel like life is getting a bit boring. You don’t need to be a pro, and you don’t need to be in an exotic location to get some great shots (most smart phones are . Grab a friend, get some ideas online – instagram/Pinterest,  pick a location and you are good to go.

My sister and I spent 2 hours in a parking lot near our house skateboarding and taking photos

2) Break Up Your Morning Routine
This is so easy but you’d be surprised at how much of an impact it has on your day. Wake up an hour early and do something that is completely unlike you. Whether it means waking up early to go on a jog, doing yoga or learning guitar.

3) Look For Activities In Your Area
You might be surprised at how much is going on in the area you live in. If you are a slight introvert like me, step out of your comfort zone and do it alone to meet some new people. Salsa lessons, pottery classes… The list is endless.

4)  View Everyday As A Mini Adventure
It’s cheesy, I know, but a lot of things can be changed just by perception. Once you stop day dreaming about things in some distant future and focus your energy on the present by exploring your interests, making new connections and purposely living life the way you want it to be you are bound to see your whole life as an adventure.

What do you think. Let me know of any other suggestions in the comments!

2 Comments

  1. I love these suggestions, I’ll have to try them out! I think that determination is important for us to actually do anything, and it plays such an enormous role in our life along with the fear of failure. I say we try our best, and if we make mistakes, then we’ll have to learn from it, forgive ourselves and move on!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

