The Secret to Happiness

Life Lessons By Wannie

“My aspiration in life would be… to be happy” – Queen B

Finding true happiness is something that pretty much everyone is searching for. It’s important to remember though, that happiness is fleeting and JOY is permanent, it is part of your nature. You can be sad and still be full of joy; it is something that runs much deeper. Happiness is fleeting. It is an emotion that comes and goes which is completely normal and even healthy. I mean how would we know to love and appreciate all the good in our lives if we didn’t have moments of what can seem like overwhelming sadness.

So if happiness is a temporary emotion, and I being the highly emotional person that I am, know that I can control my emotions, then surely the answer is obvious?

So the secret to happiness, or should I say MY secret to being happy, is to choose to be happy. I know, its easier said than done. But there are easy practical ways to make it happen. Its all about what goes on in your mind. Focus on what makes you happy. Spend more time doing the things you love and less time complaining about your problems. Go about each day being grateful for all the blessings in your life, even the simple ones. Wake up each morning and decide that today is going to be a good day no matter what. Smile more. And lastly and most importantly (for me at least), is to let things go. Yes people hurt you and yes they let you down. BUT it does you more damage to hold onto the hurt than to forgive and move on.

Let it go means to free yourself to be happy.

Simple isn’t it? Not really, but it’s something that, if you choose to work on everyday, becomes a part of who you are.

Do you agree? Are there other secrets to being happy? let me know in the comments!

 

3 Comments

  1. Honestly, I’ve always found it hard to let things go, and I understand we can never make everyone happy. I’ll try to be happy, and I hope in time I’ll learn to let go. Also, thank you for this post. It has served as a reminder for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, its always hard to let things go but I always look at it as ‘is holding on to this really worth me feeling so negative’ and if the answers no then I just have to force myself to move on. Thank you so much for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

